Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Very slow pings and lags - anyone else?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default Very slow pings and lags - anyone else?

    Is anyone else having issues with the software running very slowly?

    When I log in the market navigator is taking a long time to populate, it is staying on "...Loading" for a long time before bringing up the markets list to select from.

    I am getting constant slow pings, the market is going through my bets but not showing as being matched for a long time. The issues are both on streaming and polling. There are no issues being reported on the Betfair API Status page.

    Other websites are loading without issue.

    It may be a local issue but want to try and find out if others are having issues.

    (I have tried to upload images of the slow pings and the market going through my position but not showing as matched but I can't get the attachment window to load up on the forum).

  2. #2
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    Hi PDC. So far I don't have any issues with loading markets & matched bets, ping it's ok, I think yesterday was a little lag when placing bets, but sometimes it's from my computer if I open to much stuff and I need to restart.
    Did you try an fresh install for GT?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bog For This Useful Post:
    PDC (15th February 2020)
  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for taking the time to reply Bog. I haven't tried a fresh install of the software.

    I will try that now.

    The issues aren't small so it isn't the kind of thing you might not notice if it is affecting you. On streaming for example the market appears as though it is still a pre-race market showing all the pre-race money on the ladder and no price changes. Even though the actual market is inplay and non of the money that is showing on the ladder actually exists anymore.

    Hopefully a fresh install fixes things. I will update.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Uninstalled and re-installed and no better unfortunately.

    Guessing it is some sort of local issue or something to do with Betfair specific to me as no one else seems to be having any issues. Not sure what else I can do to fix it other than cross my fingers and hope it sorts itself out.

  6. #5
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    No problem, maybe a fresh install will help. You can try to upload pictures on imgur - https://imgur.com/

  7. #6
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PDC View Post
    Uninstalled and re-installed and no better unfortunately.

    Guessing it is some sort of local issue or something to do with Betfair specific to me as no one else seems to be having any issues. Not sure what else I can do to fix it other than cross my fingers and hope it sorts itself out.
    Sorry to hear that. Found this thread with similar issue, bets not showing - http://www.geekstoy.com/forum/showth...placement-lags

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    I have managed to get the attachments to work and have posted 2 pictures below.

    This was on polling.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slow pings.png 
Views:	69 
Size:	655 Bytes 
ID:	2504   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slow pings (2).png 
Views:	73 
Size:	4.5 KB 
ID:	2505  

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to PDC For This Useful Post:
    Bog (15th February 2020)
  10. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    On streaming the market remains as a pre-race market for 30 seconds before changing to an inplay one even though the race has started and is actually inplay. It just doesn't update to an inplay market and still shows the pre-race market orders even though they don't exist anymore. Then when the race is actually over it still shows the inplay market even though it doesn't exist anymore.

    The below image is from pre-race on streaming just now where the market has clearly moved through my back order at 2.16 but still shows as unmatched.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slow pings (3).png 
Views:	64 
Size:	4.5 KB 
ID:	2506  

  11. #9
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    Maybe because you have slow ping, you have other problems also. It looks like a connection issue. I had those also, sometimes it's from betfair and sometimes was my internet and I had to restart the wireless router, but you said other sites are working.

  12. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    And this shows streaming inplay where my order shows as still being unmatched and sitting in the ladder but obviously it has been matched and no money exists at the price anymore as it is a very quiet inplay market.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slow pings (4).jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	9.2 KB 
ID:	2507  

  13. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    And this image shows what happens when using streaming and the race is actually inplay but the software is showing the market is still pre-race. I tried to place a £2 lay and got the error message as shown in the image. It is still updating with the amounts shown in the image even though it no longer exists. It is like I am being feed delayed data from 30 seconds ago.

    After 30 seconds or so the market turned inplay within the software on my screen and remains updating on my screen for about 30 seconds after the race and actual market has been suspended.

    It is weird and would appear to be some sort of connection issue with Betfair. The software isn't going to just stop working having not had any issues for such a long time and nothing being changed.

    Any help or advice is welcome!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slow pings (5).jpg 
Views:	73 
Size:	8.0 KB 
ID:	2508  

  14. #12
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PDC View Post
    On streaming the market remains as a pre-race market for 30 seconds before changing to an inplay one even though the race has started and is actually inplay. It just doesn't update to an inplay market and still shows the pre-race market orders even though they don't exist anymore. Then when the race is actually over it still shows the inplay market even though it doesn't exist anymore.

    The below image is from pre-race on streaming just now where the market has clearly moved through my back order at 2.16 but still shows as unmatched.
    Yes it's a problem, you can't trade like this. I also get that error sometimes when a horse it's taken out from a race, markets it's suspended and open again, order if it's matched still shows unmatched on the ladder, but I think it's an displaying error in that case.

    Other ideas would be to test with different ip using VPN/VPS? If it doesn't fix by itself today maybe you should contact GT support and Betfair.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Bog For This Useful Post:
    PDC (15th February 2020)
  16. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Hopefully The Geek can help once it is a more reasonable time. Or it just fixes itself. I don't know what else I can do to fix it.

    I don't have issues with other websites when using them, I only seem to have a problem with the API, the Betfair website is fine as is all other sites.

  17. #14
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PDC View Post
    Hopefully The Geek can help once it is a more reasonable time. Or it just fixes itself. I don't know what else I can do to fix it.

    I don't have issues with other websites when using them, I only seem to have a problem with the API, the Betfair website is fine as is all other sites.
    It just happened to me also. R5 @ Port Pirie. Market went in play but priced remained the same, not updated. It dangerous because it makes you click more times thinking it didn't hedge. Luckily I had another GT opened and the price where updated there...must be careful

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to Bog For This Useful Post:
    PDC (15th February 2020)
  19. #15
    Forum Guru lcredd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,406
    Thanks: 3,042
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 651 Posts

    Default

    Having lag issues here too. Could using windows 7 be a problem now it's so old?

  20. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    40
    Thanks: 56
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lcredd View Post
    Having lag issues here too. Could using windows 7 be a problem now it's so old?
    I am not on Windows 7.

    How bad is your lag issues? Just once in a while or more persistent? Are you seeing things like I posted above or just general slowness? Would be good if you could expand with more information to see if it is something similar or different.

  21. #17
    Forum Guru lcredd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,406
    Thanks: 3,042
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 651 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PDC View Post
    I am not on Windows 7.

    How bad is your lag issues?
    It's been almost unusable for a couple weeks. The main problem for me is money is being matched but it's not showing for a second later. So my bets are matched, but it takes a second before my money is taken on the screen. By then the market has moved quite a bit, especially in running.

    I'm still on Windows 7 and have had trouble with other sites since it was 'retired' back in January.

  22. #18
    Forum Addict Bog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    381
    Thanks: 102
    Thanked 68 Times in 53 Posts

    Default

    Last couple of Australian races this morning started to get price lags like lcredd said - prices showing matched after one second or if I canceled a bet it took once second for the bet to disappear from the ladder. Now it's working ok, I had this issue in the past and it resolved itself in a day or so.

    I also use W7, didn't have any problems with other sites since it lost Microsoft support. It depends on Betfair if Api will still support W7, if not, it's time for an update. We will see...

    These are my api settings

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to Bog For This Useful Post:
    PDC (15th February 2020)
  24. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54
    Thanks: 2
    Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts

    Default Any solution to this?

    I have also had problems with this repeatedly as well.

    Is this just an Australian thing (me)?

    Tried reinstall and fiddling with settings but no improvement.
    It is intermittent though which makes me think it might be a betfair oz issue.
    any thoughts?


    cheers,

    Filthy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Talented Mavericks Limited
26 Buttercup Close
Corby
Northants
England
NN18 8LB

UK Company # 04872848
UK VAT # 887366268

Facebook TwitterYouTube



Betfair    Betdaq    VISA  Mastercard  American Express  Dinners Club  Discover  PayPal  Skrill